Get the RMI app now ...

AUTOMOTIVE REMANUFACTURERS' ASSOCIATION

We advertised a position and the best 2 candidates both possess foreign trade qualifications and make them eligible to work for me. What must I do next?

We advertised a position and the best 2 candidates both possess foreign trade qualifications and make them eligible to work for me.  What must I do next?

 

Questions in relation to foreign trade qualifications:

 

·         Can a foreign national’s qualification be considered to work in SA in the retail motor industry?  Where does Mibco fit into the picture?  Who will check on me?

·         I have a person working for me who is in possession of a foreign qualification, can he work for me?  Will this qualification suffice?

·         We advertised a position and the best 2 candidates both possess foreign trade qualifications and make them eligible to work for me.  What must I do next?

·         How do I go about verifying a foreign national’s qualification he presented to me?  It seems authentic, how can I check if it is?

·         I battle to find an artisan/qualified journeyman.  I came across a person who has demonstrated he can do the job very well, but possess a foreign qualification.  What do I do?

 

I wish to take this opportunity to remind you of the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) policy and criteria for evaluating foreign qualifications within the South African National Qualifications Framework (NQF) – amendment March 2017 (relevant document). 

 

Going through this process will at least give members comfort that the foreign qualification have been evaluated by the SAQA.  Employment practices and requirements can be advised on by the RMI’s team of qualified Industrial Relations Specialists:

 

Johanita Olivier

Western Cape

johanita.olivier@rmi.org.za

Brent Barichievy

Western Cape

brent.barichievy@rmi.org.za

Eckhardt Oelofse

Eastern Cape

eckhardt.oelofse@rmi.org.za

Janina Kalidass

KZN

janina.kalidass@rmi.org.za

Tsepo Mohlakoana

Northern Region

tsepo.mohlakoana@rmi.org.za

Jeff Molefe

Highveld

jeff.molefe@rmi.org.za

Jacques Viljoen

Free State and Northern Cape

jacques.viljoen@rmi.org.za

Marie Ellis

Free State and Northern Cape

marie.ellis@rmi.org.za

 

StayAtHome

This message contains privileged and confidential information intended only use of the addressee. If you are not the intended recipient of this message, you are hereby notified that you may not disseminate, copy or take any action based on the contents thereof; and are kindly requested to inform the sender immediately. Any views expressed in these messages are those of the individual sender, except where the sender specifically states them to be the view of the Retail Motor Industry Organisation. While every care has been taken in preparing this document, no representation, warranty or undertaking (expressed or implied) is given, and neither responsibility nor liability is accepted by any member of the Retail Motor Industry Organisation as to the accuracy of the information contained herein, or for any loss arising from reliance on it.